scam.com Owner Rebuts RipOffReport Complaint

Over on RipOffReports, someone representing themselves as the owner of scam.com responded to a complaint by a poster named William who alleged: “SCAM.COM is a recruiting ground for Pyramid schemes George Lamonte of Excalibyte Inc. is the sole owner of Domain name SCAM.COM apparently has turned into a link farm of Pryamid schemes and scams.”.

Interesting thing is, the original complaint was submitted: Friday, September 30, 2005. Now, almost 5 yrs. later, the owner of scam.com responds to it!

In case it should go missing, here in it’s entirety is what the alleged owner of scam.com had to say. Certain elements in the post make it appear that this rebuttal is indeed authentic and was indeed written by the owner of scam.com:

For the record Scam.com – toronto (Canada)
Owner of Company – SUBMITTED: Tuesday, May 04, 2010

“For the record I would like to first say I am personally a huge fan of ripoffreport.com. You are braver and bolder than me. Your level of integrity far outweighs me.

Secondly, I’d like to go on record stating my motivation for starting scam.com:

I have gotten ripped off and scammed more times than a human eye blinks in a day. I wanted a place to rant, a place to be heard. I am a very skilled SEO webmaster and knew that my cries would be heard.

BUT WE ALL KNOW THERE’S TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY.

Scam.com was supposed to be a forum to openly debate; call companies out; keep the internet IN CHECK. Self-police if you will. Listen to ALL sides.

It turned into a monster that was tough to control. The site got hacked and attacked hundreds of times. The legal fees far outweighed any revenue it brought in. The real heroes of the site are the moderators. THEY keep the site somewhat pure (sometimes they use their own agenda), but at the end of the day, I owe them alot of praise. (Hopefully this rant will inspire them to see my point of view).

Do I like Google adwords?….. no, but that’s the only way I can keep the site up. I have been in the negative for some years now. The last guy sold it to me with pending lawsuits. A wise man once said, “you have to break a few eggs to make an omelet “, and scam.com is the case. I can’t make everyone happy. I CAN OFFER FREEDOM OF SPEECH though. Only the ignorant complain. People that are truly open minded are not phased by a difference of opinion, they welcome intellectual debate.

I manage thousands of websites. Some I am proud of, other’s I am not. SCAM.COM will be my most proudest project even if it makes me homeless. I believe that the United States is the greatest country in the world, where anyone can achieve ANYTHING with hard work. I believe George Bush Jr should be sentenced to death for war crimes and lying to the American people. I believe Obama is the light at the end of the tunnel, if people would just EDUCATE themselves on ISSUES, not Republican propaganda.

So what I am saying is: leave me out of this, let the site go in the direction it needs to. i will be putting a “?” at the end of my logo and state that “websites listed on scam.com do not necessarily mean they are scams, you decide”.

Here’s my rebuttal, take it or leave it.”

What’s interesting to note is that the author admits in the 2nd paragraph that he was the one that started scam.com.

The reason this is interesting is because it’s been made clear on scam.com that the site was sold by “George Lamont” to someone named “Zachary” that lives in Portugal. (see Scam.com being sold for instance).

George,

I am sure going to miss you. It’s been fun, gratifying and humbling to be part of a service that helps people who might otherwise be ripped off. To that end, if the new owners are willing, I’ll be happy to stay and continue helping out.

I do hope the new owners won’t change things too much. 🙂

Namaste’

Lady Mod

However on scam.com today, Lady Mod has this to say about the RipOffReport rebuttal by the owner of scam.com:

Well, I like what George said the best,

“ONLY the IGNORANT complain”

And that kind of sums it all up.

Lady Mod

Lady Mod likes what George has to say??? She just confirmed that George is the owner of scam.com!!!

But what does “Zachary”, the alleged owner of scam.com have to say about all this?

Plenty!

I hate to see people leave. I don’t understand why everyone thinks I am the scammer here. I am not George either. The site’s been sold many times. How am I pro scammer. The ads google supplies pay the bills.

Yes you are George!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to scam.com Owner Rebuts RipOffReport Complaint

  1. LyricSoprano says:

    From Quatloos.com:
    Re: New Management at Scam.com
    by Lisa on Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:31 pm

    Wow… so out of all the people here whining and complaining about George only Doc and I have the guts to actually ask him about it. Since I knew I wasn’t likely to get an answer, I PM’d LM about it. George had a legitimate reason for faking the sale of the site and LM agreed to try and help him do this. It had nothing to do with the actual posters on the site. What it had to do with was the overwhelming amount of attorneys contacting him and threatening legal action against him. He figured if he “sold” the site that the lawyers wouldn’t bother him anymore and would instead go on a manhunt for “Zac”.

    It’s funny the answers you can get if you just bother asking. I personally don’t have a big problem with this reason and can understand why someone would choose to do such a thing.

  2. Emet says:

    “George had a legitimate reason for faking the sale of the site…He figured if he “sold” the site that the lawyers wouldn’t bother him anymore and would instead go on a manhunt for “Zac”.”

    Well, that’s just plain silly. Lots of people “know” he faked the sale, and an attorney wouldn’t be able to discover that?

    Threats of litigation to large Internet sites are often just threats, and savvy folks don’t worry about them; nor do they kowtow to them. According to Wikipedia, anti-SLAPP legislation exists in 26 US states and Quebec so far; I suspect more states and Provinces will enact legislation as cases are presented.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strategic_lawsuit_against_public_participation

Leave a Reply

